ieee antennas propagation society engineers education students

antenna signal processing radio astronomy engineering space communication

wireless mobile satellite telecommunications applied optics electromagnetic waves

IEEE AP-S Awards

2015 Winners

View 2014 Winners

Distinguished Achievement Award

Nader Engheta
For seminal contributions in the theory, application, and demonstration of metamaterials, plasmonic optics, and chiral and omega media


Chen-To Tai Distinquished Educator Award

Jian-Ming Jin
For outstanding contributions to graduate teaching, curriculum development, and research guidance of graduate students in the area of computational electromagnetics


John Kraus Award

George V. Eleftheriades
For pioneering contributions to metamaterials and their applications to antennas and sub-diffraction imaging


Donald G. Dudley Jr. Undergraduate Teaching Award

Ashwin K. Iyer
For introducing innovative teaching methodologies to effectively engage and inspire undergraduate students in engineering electromagnetics


Lot Shafai Mid-Career Distinguished Achievement Award

Mona Jarrahi
For pioneering contributions to plasmonic antennas and optical phased arrays for terahertz and microwave systems and being a role model for women scientists and engineers


Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics

Levent Gürel
For pioneering contributions to the accurate solution of large-scale electromagnetic problems via integral equations, parallel computing, and fast algorithms


Best Paper Awards

Sergei A. Schelkunoff Transactions Prize Paper Award

Krzysztof A. Michalski and Juan R. Mosig
On the Plane Wave-Excited Subwavelength Circular Aperture in a Thin Perfectly Conducting Flat Screen, IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol.62, no.4-part 2, pp.2121-2129, 2014


Harold A. Wheeler Applications Prize Paper Award

Nathan R. Labadie, Satish K. Sharma and Gabriel M. Rebeiz
A Circularly Polarized Multiple Radiating Mode Microstrip Antenna for Satellite Receive Applications, IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol.62, no. 7, pp.3490-3500, 2014


R. W. P. King Paper Award

Liang Liang and Sean Victor Hum
Realizing a Flat UWB 2-D Reflector Designed Using Transformation Optics, IEEE Transactions on Antenna and Propagation, vol.62, no.5, pp.2481 – 2487, 2014


Piergiorgio L. E. Uslenghi Letters Prize Paper Award

Michele Tamagnone and Julien Perruisseau-Carrier
Predicting Input Impedance and Efficiency of Graphene Reconfigurable Dipoles Using a Simple Circuit Model, IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters, vol.13, pp.313 – 316, 2014


Edward E. Altshuler Prize Paper Award

Huan-Ting Meng, Bao-Lin Nie, Steven Wong, Charles Macon, and Jian-Ming Jin
GPU Accelerated Finite-Element Computation for Electromagnetic Analysis, IEEE Antenna & Propagation Magazine, vol.56, pp.39-62, April 2014


2014 Winners